Address 1200 Harger Road, Suite 706, Oak Brook, IL 60523
630-472-9700Available 24/7
Search
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube Blog
Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C.
630-472-9700Available 24/7

Registration Requirements for Illinois Sex Offenders

Posted on in Criminal Defense

illinois sex offender lawyerUnder Illinois law if you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor offense concerning unlawful sexual conduct, you may be required to register as a sex offender.  Some examples for convictions of sex crimes that require registration are as follows:

  • Indecent solicitation or sexual exploitation of a child;
  • Offenses concerning unlawful conduct with juvenile prostitute;
  • Child Pornography;
  • Criminal Sexual Abuse;
  • Criminal Sexual Assault;
  • Forcible detention of a victim under age 18; and
  • Public Indecency for a third subsequent conviction.

A more complete list of the offenses for which a defendant must register as a sexual offender can be found on the Illinois Sex Offender Information website.

Registration Process and Requirements

A convicted sex offender must register as a sex offender for a period of 10 years from the date of conviction for those who received probation or 10 years from the date of release for those sentenced to a prison sentence. The offender must register in person each year with the law enforcement agency (a city police department or town sheriff’s office) that has jurisdiction over where the offender presently resides. For example, if someone was convicted of a sexual offense in Chicago in Cook County, and then later moved to Oak Brook in DuPage County, the person would be responsible for registering as a sex offender with the police department in Oak Brook.

For offenders labeled as “Sexually Dangerous or Violent,” they must re-register every 90 days for life. Offenders adjudicated as sexual predators are required to re-register each year for the rest of their lives. There is an annual registration fee of about $100.

In addition to periodic registration requirements, Illinois law requires individuals convicted of a specified sexual offense to register each time they temporarily change residences for more than three days. If a person convicted of a sex offense moves, the person must register the new address promptly, within three days from the date of the move.

Penalties for Failing to Register

For failing to register, an offender may be charged with a violation of the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act and required to re-register every 90 days. The offender can also be penalized for failing to provide complete and accurate information to law enforcement personnel or failing to timely report an address change.  Those penalized for failing to register under the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act may be subject to a third or second degree felony charge as well as fines and/or incarceration.

The Illinois criminal defense attorneys at Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C. have years of experience defending people accused of committing sexual crimes. We understand the stigma that can exist for those who are convicted of a sexual offense and work hard to protect our client’s reputations. When representing Illinois residents accused of sex crimes, we may be able to reduce bail conditions, suppress evidence and argue motions to dismiss the case. If you believe you may be able to benefit from our criminal defense services in the area of sex crimes or in another area, contact us at (630) 472- 9700 for a free consultation.

Lead Counsel
AVVO
Newsweek
National Trial Lawyers
Rated by Super Lawyers
Back to Top