Address 1200 Harger Road, Suite 706, Oak Brook, IL 60523
630-472-9700Available 24/7
Search
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube Google Blog
Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C.
630-472-9700Available 24/7

DuPage County Underage Drinking Defense Lawyer

Elmhurst DUI Defense Attorney

Attorney Representing Clients Charged With Underage Possession/Consumption in Elmhurst

When a teenager or young adult under age 21 is charged with underage drinking, one common reaction is to shrug it off as no big deal, saying "We did it. Everybody does it." But the consequences for anyone under 21 caught with alcohol in Illinois can be severe and long-lasting.

An alcohol-related conviction can impact a young person's insurance rates, eligibility to participate in school activities, ability to secure housing, choice of jobs, and even the ability to travel to other countries. The attorneys of Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C understand how concerning these consequences can be for both a young person and their parents. We will commit to getting the best possible resolution to your case.

Purchase, Possession, Receipt, or Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor

Illinois liquor law mandates the following penalties for anyone under the legal drinking age who is convicted of buying, holding, or drinking alcoholic beverages:

  • First conviction: Suspension of driving privileges for six months. If granted court supervision, the suspension will only be for three months.
  • Second conviction: Suspension of driving privileges for 12 months.
  • Third conviction: Revocation of driving privileges for an indefinite period of time.

The underage individual does not have to be driving or even in a vehicle for these penalties to apply. In addition to underage possession of alcohol charges, anyone who provides alcohol to a minor can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.

Use of a Borrowed or Fraudulent ID in Underage Drinking

It is illegal in Illinois for a person under age 21 to use someone else's driver's license or state ID card for the purpose of buying or consuming alcohol. Both the person who lends the card and the person who uses the card can have their driver's licenses suspended or revoked for up to one year. In addition, both individuals can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and fines up to $2,500.

It is an even more serious crime to possess a fraudulent Illinois driver's license or state ID card, regardless of how the fake ID is used. You can be charged with a Class 4 felony, punishable by one to three years imprisonment and fines up to $25,000.

Illegal Transportation of Alcohol by a Minor

If an underage driver is caught with alcohol in a vehicle, their driver's license will be suspended for one year. A second offense while under age 21 will result in the revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of one year. In addition, everyone in the vehicle can be fined up to $1,000.

If you or your minor child has been charged with underage drinking or another alcohol-related offense, speak with an experienced DuPage County criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. The attorneys of Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C. will aggressively protect and defend under-21 clients accused of any alcohol law violations. For a free initial consultation, call 630-472-9700. We serve clients in DuPage County, including Oak Brook, Lombard, Elmhurst, Hinsdale, Downers Grove, Addison, Wheaton, and Westmont.

Lead Counsel
AVVO
Newsweek
National Trial Lawyers
Rated by Super Lawyers
Back to Top