Address 1200 Harger Road, Suite 706, Oak Brook, IL 60523
630-472-9700
Search
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube Google Blog
Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C.
630-472-9700

DuPage County Hit and Run Defense Attorney

Elmhurst Traffic Violations Lawyer

Lawyers Defending Against Charges of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Elmhurst and Lombard

Car accidents can happen to anyone. In DuPage County alone, there are over 20,000 vehicle crashes per year, involving over 40,000 vehicles and people.

If you fear that a collision was your fault, or if you are afraid of getting a costly ticket, your gut may tell you to drive or run away. But leaving the scene of an accident, an offense which is commonly known as hit and run, is a criminal offense in Illinois with long-term consequences, including fines, jail time, a criminal record, and loss of driving privileges.

The attorneys at Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C. have the knowledge and experience to defend you against any and all charges resulting from a collision, including the crime of leaving the scene of an accident. We will diligently examine all the details of your case, ensure your rights are protected at every step, and do our best to minimize the repercussions on your life.

Requirements for Drivers Involved in a Crash

If you are involved in a car accident, Illinois law requires you to take the following steps:

  • Stop your vehicle as close as possible to the scene of the accident. Remain at the scene to complete the following steps. (625 ILCS 5/11-401 and 11-402)
  • Render aid to anyone who may be injured. (625 ILCS 5/11-403)
  • Call 911 to summon the police and other emergency assistance as needed (625 ILCS 5/11-407).
  • Exchange information with others involved, including driver's license, vehicle registration, and proof of insurance. (625 ILCS 5/11-403)
  • Complete an accident report. By law (625 ILCS 5/11-406), each involved driver must file a report of any crash that resulted in a death, personal injury, or more than $1,500 of damage to any one person's property ($500 if any driver was uninsured). This report must be submitted to the Illinois Department of Transportation no more than 10 days after the crash. Drivers who fail to report may have their driver's license suspended.

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Leaving the scene of an accident involving only property damage is a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine up to $2,500. Anyone convicted of this crime will also have their driver's license suspended if the property damage exceeded $1,000.

Leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury or death is (at a minimum) a Class 4 felony, which is punishable by one to three years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. A conviction will also result in the revocation of the offender's driver's license.

Hit and Run Defense Lawyer Serving Oak Brook

If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident in DuPage County, you should speak with a lawyer as soon as possible. Be sure to choose an experienced DuPage County defense attorney who knows how to work with the local prosecutors and courts that handle traffic violations and driving crimes in the county. The attorneys of Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C. have decades of experience defending clients accused of serious driving violations like hit and run. We will work diligently to protect your rights and secure the best possible outcome for your case. For a free consultation, contact our office at 630-472-9700. We provide legal help to clients in Addison, Downers Grove, Elmhurst, Hinsdale, Lombard, Oak Brook, Wheaton, and Westmont.

Lead Counsel
AVVO
Newsweek
National Trial Lawyers
Rated by Super Lawyers
Back to Top