Address 1200 Harger Road, Suite 706, Oak Brook, IL 60523
630-472-9700Available 24/7
Search
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube Google Blog
Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C.
630-472-9700Available 24/7

DuPage County Lawyer for Driving While License Revoked

Elmhurst Traffic Violations Lawyer

Defense Attorneys for Driving on a Revoked License in Westmont and Lombard

Having your driver's license revoked is a harsh penalty with no definite end date. In other words, if your license was revoked for one year, you will not automatically get your license back in exactly one year. Your reinstatement could be delayed for a variety of reasons.

Until your license is fully reinstated, the Secretary of State may grant you a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP), allowing you to drive only as deemed necessary for your job, childcare, or other limited purposes spelled out on the permit.

Revocation, even if you have been granted an RDP, is a real hardship, especially if you live in an area that lacks good public transportation. No driver's license can put a serious strain on both your relationships and your wallet. Your options for where you can live and where you can work will be severely limited. The temptation to get behind the wheel can be strong.

What Happens If I Still Drive After My License Was Revoked?

If you are tempted to drive after revocation, or to violate the scope of your RDP, the best advice is: do not do it. If you have an RDP, the Secretary of State can cancel it if you are convicted of a moving violation or driving outside the scope of your permit. If you do not have an RDP and get caught driving, there is a very good chance you will serve time in jail, even for the first offense. Plus, when your initial period of revocation is up and you apply to get your driver's license back, the hearing officer will see this additional ticket on your record and will likely deny your application.

You might think that driving revoked is a minor traffic offense, like a speeding ticket for going 62 in a 55 mph zone. In fact, driving revoked is a serious traffic violation in Illinois. The penalties can be as severe as those for the offense, such as DUI, that got your license revoked in the first place.

Illinois Penalties for Driving After Revocation

In most cases, a first offense of driving after revocation is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. If convicted, you can be sentenced to jail for up to one year and a fine up to $2,500. If your original revocation was due to DUI or leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury or death, you must serve a minimum of 10 days in jail or 30 days of community service. In addition to those punishments, your license will remain revoked for an additional one year.

However, if your original revocation was due to reckless homicide or aggravated DUI causing death, or if you caused serious injury or death while driving revoked, you will be charged with a Class 4 felony. You must serve 30 days in jail or 300 hours of community service. Plus, your revocation will be extended for an additional three years.

The penalties grow increasingly more severe for second and subsequent offenses, particularly when the original revocation was related to serious crimes such as DUI or reckless homicide.

If you have been charged with driving after revocation, speak with an experienced DuPage County defense lawyer as soon as possible. The attorneys at Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C. have decades of experience with Illinois traffic laws and driver's license regulations. We will aggressively defend you in both criminal proceedings and Secretary of State hearings. For a free initial consultation, call 630-472-9700. Serving DuPage County, including Oak Brook, Lombard, Elmhurst, Hinsdale, Downers Grove, Addison, Wheaton, and Westmont.

Lead Counsel
AVVO
Newsweek
National Trial Lawyers
Rated by Super Lawyers
Back to Top