Address 1200 Harger Road, Suite 830, Oak Brook, IL 60523
630-472-9700Available 24/7

Address 327 Dahlonega St., Suite 1803-A, Cumming, GA 30040
678-208-9200Available 24/7
Facebook LinkedIn Youtube Blog
Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C.
678-208-9200Available 24/7

DuPage County CDL Texting Defense Attorney

Dupage County CDL Defense Lawyer

Law Firm Defending Truck Drivers Charged With Electronic Device Use While Driving in Illinoi

Operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) is often a thankless job, and the tedium that comes with long hours of driving may tempt drivers to take their attention off the road to use a cell phone or other electronic device. However, drivers should be aware that texting while driving is considered a serious offense that can threaten their commercial driver's license (CDL).

At Kathryn L. Harry & Associates, P.C., we understand how CDL violations can threaten your livelihood as a commercial driver, and we know the importance of defending your license against anything that may affect your ability to earn an income. If you are facing the disqualification of your license due to texting while driving, our experienced attorneys will do everything we can to help you continue driving as soon as possible.

Penalties for Using an Electronic Device While Driving

Illinois law defines texting as either entering text into or reading text from an electronic device, including sending text messages or emails, accessing a web page, or making or ending a phone call by pressing more than a single button. Texting is prohibited while a driver is operating a CMV on the road, including when they are stopped in traffic. However, using a navigation system is permitted, and drivers may also use devices such as fleet management systems, dispatching devices, music players, or CB radios as long as they do not violate the law against texting while doing so.

In Illinois, texting or using a handheld mobile phone while driving is considered a serious traffic violation for CDL holders, whether they are driving a CMV or not. Being convicted of two serious violations within three years will result in a two-month CDL disqualification. A third conviction within three years will result in a four-month disqualification.

In addition to the penalties specified by Illinois law, CDL holders may also face civil penalties of up to $2,750 from the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) for using an electronic device while driving. Employers may not permit or require their employees to use electronic devices while driving, and doing so can result in civil penalties of up to $11,000.

Contact an Elmhurst CDL Defense Attorney

If your CDL is in danger of disqualification because you have been charged with texting while driving, our knowledgeable, experienced attorneys can provide you with the legal representation you need as you work to continue driving and earning a living. Contact a Lombard CDL disqualification defense attorney at 630-472-9700 to schedule a free initial consultation. We serve clients in Hinsdale, Wheaton, Downers Grove, Burr Ridge, Willowbrook, and DuPage County, Illinois.

Back to Top